Science Academies' Refresher Course on

"Statistical Mechanics "

Post Graduate and Research Department of Physics,
Bishop Moore College, Mavelikara-690110
02 to 16 May 2018
Sponsored by
Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru
Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi
The National Academy of Sciences India, Allahabad

A Refresher Course in Statistical Mechanics for College/University teachers/research scholars will be held at the PostGraduate and Research Department of Physics, Bishop Moore College, Mavelikara, Kerala, during 2 to 16 May 2018. The Course is primarily aimed at teachers involved in teaching Statistical Mechanics at the UG/PG level although a few seats will be available for research scholars/post-docs in physics. The Course will cover the basic and advanced topics of Statistical Mechanics, through lectures and tutorials. College/University teachers having at least a Masters degree in Physics are particularly encouraged to apply. Topics to be covered include Thermodynamics, Probability theory, Basic postulates and ensembles of statistical mechanics, Bosons, Fermi gas, Classical Interacting systems, Phase transitions and critical phenomena, and Different types of problems studied using statistical mechanical methods.

UGC has approved two-week Refresher Courses of good standing for promotion, vide notification. F3-1/2009 dated 30 June 2010.
Resource Persons: Indrani Bose (Kolkata), K P N Murthy (Manipal), Neelima Gupte (Chennai), Parongama Sen (Kolkata), Somendra M Bhattacharjee (Bhubaneswar), Varsha Banerjee (Delhi)

Applications are invited from teachers with experience in teaching undergraduate and postgraduate courses in Physics. Maximum 40 applications will be considered. Teachers/Post-docs/Research Scholars who wish to participate in the Refresher Course

Interested applicants must submit their application ONLINE by clicking on the following link:
Apply here

A printed copy of the application approved by the Head of the institution (or competent authority) should be sent by speed post to the Coordinator: Dr Lija K Joy, Department of Physics, Bishop Moore College, Mavelikara-690110.
Scanned copies may be sent by email to rcstatbmc@gmail.com.

Last date for receipt of applications: 27 February, 2018.
Outstation candidates will be provided local hospitality and round trip bus/train (three- tier AC) fare by the shortest route. Please note that participants must arrive on 01 May and leave on 16 May.

Course Director: Somendra Mohan Bhattacharjee, Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar 751 005
Course Coordinator:Dr Lija K Joy & Prof.Merin George, Department of Physics, Bishop Moore College, Mavelikara-690110. E-mail:lijakjoy@gmail.com, merin85@gmail.com.
Contact Number: 09495043765

© 2013 Indian Academy Of Sciences
Designed & developed by: Taurus Hard Soft Solutions Pvt Ltd.